Reading and Writing

I seem to have stopped reading.  It happened slowly.  I was interested in other things. I was too busy so the books would go back to the library only being flipped through.  If it wasn’t related to the dissertation then I shouldn’t be reading it anyway – it was a distraction.

The weeks and months stretched out and things happened in my personal life and the dissertation went on hold for a bit.  As I picked it back up, even reading for the dissertation was difficult.  There was always something else to do.

Busy work.

Make work.

I especially couldn’t bring myself to read what I had written.

I’m wrapping up my dissertation interviews in the next couple of weeks.  Yes, the transcription will take for. ev. er.  after that but hopefully I can start writing things later this summer.

In order to write I need to read.  To re-read.  To face what I wrote in my proposal and honestly assess what is still usable and what is not.

To ease back into that mode I need to read things that are not work-related or geared toward the 6 to 7 year old set.  I need to read things that are related to the dissertation and start writing about them.    This is where it loops back in to public writing and accountability.

I would like to be able to post a couple of times a week some commentary on dissertation-related writing.

I would like to set some time aside each week to that reading and writing and actually follow through.

I’ll admit I have a bad track record for saying I’ll post and then disappearing for weeks on end but my real name is on this blog so we’ll see if that makes a difference.  I’m going to clean out the home office this weekend and organize my references so I can at least find things to read and I will report out on the flip side.

Categories: meta, writing | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

